Managing and Publishing Drafts¶
Review Board uses a draft mechanism for all editable items: the review request, reviews, and replies to reviews. This means you may have several things in a draft state all at once.
When anything is in a draft state, the review banner at the top of the window will change to a green color and give you options for changing or publishing the drafts that exist.
Changed in version 6.0: Prior to Review Board 6.0, each draft had its own banners and had to be published separately. If you’re using an older version, please consult the version of the user manual corresponding to your system.
When multiple drafts are present, the banner has a mode switcher that allows you to switch between a grouped mode and individual drafts. By default, the banner will be in grouped mode and control all active drafts. If you want to instead focus on only one, you can select it from the drop-down menu.
When the banner is in the grouped mode, you have the following options for publishing:
To publish all active drafts, click Publish All. If enabled, this will send a single e-mail notification containing all of your content.
To publish only a single draft, select the one you want to publish from the drop-down, and click Publish.
To discard a draft, select the one you want to discard from the drop-down and click Discard.
After publishing a review, it will show up in the review request page with all the comments you’ve written. Anybody can reply to your comments to discuss your feedback.
If the server administrator has enabled e-mail support, the owner of the review request and all assigned reviewers will be e-mailed a copy of your new review. Notifications may also be sent to any chat services you have configured.
Once you have published a review, you can’t go back and edit it (but you can later revoke a Ship It! if you marked it as such).
The Publish button additionally has a drop-down of options, shown by hovering over the gear icon.
You can also select Archive after publishing to automatically mark the review request as archived after your review is published.
If your server has e-mail notifications enabled, you can turn them off by unselecting Send E-Mail. This is most useful if you’re publishing small tweaks, and don’t want to create unnecessary noise in people’s inboxes.