Review requests are usually posted to one or more review groups, which users can subscribe to. Every review group has an ID name, a human-readable display name, and an optional mailing list.
E-Mail and Review Groups¶
Review groups may have a mailing list associated with it. If Send e-mails for review requests and reviews is enabled in E-Mail Settings, and a mailing list is associated with a group on the review request’s reviewers list, then e-mails will be sent to the list on all updates and reviews.
If a mailing list is not provided, and the setting is enabled, e-mails will instead go out to every user who has joined the review group.
Adding Review Groups¶
To add a new review group, click the Add link next to the Review groups entry in the database section or the Administrator Dashboard in the Administration UI. Make sure to choose Review groups and not Groups, as the latter is for Permission Groups.
A form will appear with fields split into the following sections:
- Name (required)
This is the ID name of the group. Users will type this when adding the group to their reviewers list, and it will appear in their dashboard.
- Display name (required)
This is the human-readable display name that will be shown in the browseable Groups list. It should generally be kept short.
- Mailing list (optional)
The mailing list that e-mails will be sent to, if enabled. If not provided, e-mails will be sent to all members of the group. See E-Mail and Review Groups for more information.
New in version 1.6.
If checked, the group is visible to all users. Otherwise, it will be hidden from all lists. This is often used in conjunction with Invite only.
By default, this is checked.
New in version 1.6.
Review group access can be made invite-only and limited only to the users the administrator specifically added.
See Access Control for more information on how this works.
- Invite only
If checked, the group is invite-only. Users won’t be able to add themselves to it, requiring the administrator to add them.
By default, this is not checked.
- Users (optional)
The list of users that belong to the group. This is useful when you want to pre-populate a group with specific users. This can usually be left blank, since users can join the group themselves.
The list contains possible users to match. Selected entries are the users you want to add. Hold down Control (on the PC) or Command (on the Mac) to select more than one.
- Local site (optional)
The Local Site to tie this review group to. This is an advanced feature that you are unlikely to need.
When done, click Save to create the review group.
Editing Review Groups¶
See Adding Review Groups for a description of each field.
When done, click Save to save your changes.
Deleting Review Groups¶
To delete a review group, follow the instructions in Editing Review Groups to find the group you want to get rid of. Then click Delete at the bottom of the page.
It is recommended that you not delete review groups, as it will affect existing review requests. It is generally best to keep old groups around to keep the review histories intact.